Wednesday, January 18, 2017

Eagan's Form of Government

Eagan has a mayor-council form of government, called Statutory Plan A, with a full-time City Administrator running day-to-day operations. City departments under his authority include Administration, Communications, Finance, Planning, Public Works, Protective Inspections, Parks and Recreation, Police and Fire. The City Council is the decision making body of the City. It meets on the first and third Tuesdays of the month at 6:30 p.m. The Mayor and the four Councilmembers are elected to four year alternating terms.
Dakota County government is responsible for building and maintaining county roads, keeping central records, the library system, county wide law enforcement, courts and human services. Commissioners are elected from seven districts in the county; Eagan is in Districts 3 and 4. The County Board meets alternating Tuesdays at the Dakota County Government Center, 1560 Highway 55, Hastings, Minnesota. For additional information call (651) 437-3191.
The Minnesota State Capitol is located in downtown St. Paul about 10 miles from Eagan. For information about the various state agencies, consult the white pages section of your telephone book and refer to “Minnesota, State of,” or call (651) 296-6013.
For most Federal Government departments and agencies, the Twin Cities metro area is under the jurisdiction of regions headquartered in either Denver, Colorado or Chicago, Illinois. However, due to the size and strategic location of the Twin Cities area, many Federal Government agencies maintain offices throughout the area. For telephone numbers and information, consult the white pages section of your telephone directory and refer to “United States Government”, or call (612) 349-5333.