Wednesday, January 18, 2017

About the City Council

The City Council meets the 1st & 3rd Tuesday of each month at 6:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers. Check the event calendar for specific meeting dates, agendas or minutes.The Eagan City Council is proud to serve our community. The Mayor and four Council members serve four-year staggered terms with elections in even-numbered years. Eagan's Mayor is Mike Maguire. Council members are Paul Bakken, Cyndee Fields, Gary Hansen, and Meg Tilley.
The Mayor and Council are elected to make decisions on behalf of Eagan's residents. They adopt and oversee the City's annual budget and set the annual property tax levy. They are also responsible for policy decisions ranging from land use and subdivision applications to program development and awards of contracts. The Mayor and Council ensure public participation in their decisions through input at meetings, public hearings, neighborhood meetings, advisory commissions, civic and business organizations and community group.
In the Council-Administration form of government, the Administrator is responsible for carrying out the directions of the Council majority. In this way, the Mayor and Council can focus on big picture issues while they oversee the Administrator who manages the day to day operations of the City.
The Council meets in regular sessions to conduct City business on the first and third Tuesdays of the month at 6:30 p.m. at City Hall. A "Listening Session" is also held at 6:00 p.m., prior to each regular City Council meeting at which the public may address items not on the City Council Agenda. The Listening Session is typically more informal and provides an opportunity for conversation with the Council.
The Mayor and City Council members do not have offices at City Hall. The phone numbers listed here are provided for use by the public. If you wish to email City Council, please note that they do not have direct access to email. However, a special email address has been set up as a means to contact them at The Mayor and Each City Council member may also be contacted individually through the contact information provided at the bottom of this page and on their individual pages.
Find agendas and minutes for City Council meetings. 

City Council Contacts

Mike Maguire Mike Maguire Mayor (651) 675-5048
Paul Bakken Paul Bakken Councilmember (651) 261-2526
Cyndee Fields Cyndee Fields Councilmember (952) 270-3093
Gary Hansen Gary Hansen Councilmember (651) 454-1172
Meg Tilley Meg Tilley Councilmember (651) 485-5558